[Known Issue] Softimage Cat Rigs

[Known Issue] Softimage Cat Rigs

Postby lukashi » Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:37 pm

Loading a render Preset cause Softimage Cat Rigs to get corrupted. Note this is not really an LPM bug but a bug with Softimage Cat not supporting render presets. LPM however uses render presets in Render Overrides, so these two features must not be used togheter. It should be noted that it is possible to use LPM and Cat togheter so long as you avoid Render Overrides.

To use cat with LPM do the following,
1) Create a animation max file that uses CAT Rigs and possibly LPM (With no RENDER OVERRIDES)
2) Once finished with animations, point cache all CAT Rigs using Point Cache Modifier.
3) In seperate render max file load all Point Caches and use LPM with Render Overrides as normal.
lukashi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:44 pm

Re: [Known Issue] Softimage Cat Rigs

Postby RGhost » Wed Nov 03, 2010 12:31 pm

First of all I'd like to thank you lukashi for your great script! It's very useful for me!

I'd like offer another way to solving this bug. (Autodesk doesn't seem to fix it :( )
I've written operator plugin for your Lpass Manager which stores Mental Ray setup parameters.

edit:
*Also allows you avoid Biped & Render Preset bug which returned since max 9 sp1 which was fixed.
- Using Render Presets on a file where a biped was present and motion mixer contains clips would result in a corrupt file when saved. (max 2011 x64 sp1)

Code: Select all
/*
Title     :  RenderPreset operator for LPM 1.09+*
            - Store Mental Ray render parameters

Copyright : © 2010-2012 veda3d.com
Author    : Royal Ghost

Version   : 0.2.0       
                        - Restore original renderer params after render.
                        - Store RenderPreset window position and size.
                       
Version   : 0.1.3       
                        - Fixed "Apply".
                        - Sorting tables
Version   : 0.1.2
                        - Added "Apply..." button. Allows to apply stored parameters to current render setup.
Version   : 0.1.1   
                        - Fixed filenames parsing.
                        - Found serious bug in LPM v1.096 Pro (CA.ms). For proper work of this plugin, patched CA.ms MUST be installed.
Version   : 0.1.0
                        - First alpha release
                        - Known limitations:
                        - Tested only on 3dsmax 2011 Mental Ray
                        - Shaders in Mental Ray setup are NOT SUPPORTED (camera shaders,material override,contours)
                        - When pass render is finished applied parameters are not restored.
                       
Usage        :             
                        1. Add custom operator "RenderPreset" in LPM
                        2. Right click on added "RenderPreset" -> Edit
                        3. Press "Store..." button.
           
Homepage  : http://veda3d.com

* LPM - Lukas Lepicovsky's LPass Manager www.lukashi.com
*/

rp_screenshot.png
rp_screenshot.png (73.58 KiB) Viewed 22237 times


http://veda3d.com/files/rendererPresetsOperator_4_LPM_v0.2.0.rar
--
Edit:

lukashi seems __DeleteAll function from CA.ms contain bug, and not working properly.

original code:
Code: Select all
   fn __DeleteAll IKey=
   (
      IKey=toLower IKey
      i=1
      while(i<Keys.count) do
      (
         if(Keys[i]==LKey) then
         (
            deleteItem keys i
            deleteItem dClass i
            deleteItem dValue i
            deleteItem dMaxObject i
            deleteItem dNode i
         )
         else
            i+=1
      )   
      
   )



fixed code (seems work fine):
Code: Select all
   fn __DeleteAll IKey=
   (
      IKey=toLower IKey
      i=1
      while(i<=Keys.count) do
      (
         if(Keys[i]==IKey) then
         (
            deleteItem keys i
            deleteItem dClass i
            deleteItem dValue i
            deleteItem dMaxObject i
            deleteItem dNode i
         )
         else
            i+=1
      )
   )

Last edited by RGhost on Wed Jun 13, 2012 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Royal Ghost | http://veda3d.com
RGhost
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 9:33 am
Location: Moscow/Russia

Re: [Known Issue] Softimage Cat Rigs

Postby lukashi » Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:43 pm

Very cool!!
lukashi
Site Admin
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 4:44 pm


Return to Bug Reports / Known Issues

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron